top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Chen

Career Exploration: R & D Scientist

Biology is the study of how all living things work. And there are many biology careers out there, such as being a food scientist, a marine biologist, zoologist, and many more. I myself am interested in biology because it explains how everything living works around us, and to learn more, I asked my mom for help.


Meet Yongmei Zhang- a.k.a. my mother. She is an R & D Scientist with a Ph. D. degree who works at Jeneil Biotech Inc. Her job entails developing new processes to produce flavor compounds that can be added to different foods. An interview was conducted with Dr. Zhang and the questions and her responses are recorded below.


Q: What do you do in your job?

A: I work with other scientists at Jeneil Biotech, and together we make flavors such as vanilla, and peach. We also make probiotics, which are beneficial microorganisms to human health. We use fermentation to grow probiotics, process them into a dry powder, and sell it to companies that then put it in their own products, such as supplements, like the vitamin gummies many kids eat.


This is a picture of the production scale fermenters used.

Q: What is your favorite part of your job?

A: My favorite part is when I make a new discovery and know that I am the first person in the whole world to have this new knowledge. Of course being a scientist, I enjoy analyzing data as well.


Q: What education did you require to qualify for your job?

A: I have a bachelor’s degree in biochemistry and a Ph. D. in microbiology.


Q: How long have you been working at Jeneil Biotech?

A: I started after the new year in 2015, so this is my 8th year working at Jeneil.


Q: What previous jobs have helped in working at your company now?

A: I still use many of the techniques from my previous jobs. Before Jeneil, I worked in medical research fields and studied infectious bacteria and tried to find ways to fight against them. At Jeneil, we use bacteria to benefit people’s health.


Q: What new skills have you acquired ever since you started working at this job?

A: I have learned many things, especially in biotechnology, including using fermenters in order to produce more flavors. I also learned how to analyze the genomic sequence of a microorganism, using new bioinformatic softwares.


Q: What would you say to someone who might be interested in becoming a biologist?

A: I would tell them that they are on the right track to a meaningful, enlightening, and fulfilling career path, and that you will always learn new things. And one day they can help their children with their science homework.


 

Cover Image Source:


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page